## **Governor Appointments Panel**

## 23<sup>rd</sup> April 2010

## **Issues Paper**

Page No. Summary Papers	Partnership	School Name Name of Nominee(s)	Comments	Guideline
	Cranbrook & Paddockwood	Hawkhurst School Mr Roger Manning	It has recently come to light that Mr Manning failed to apply for re-appointment at the end of his term of office in September 08. Mr Manning has continued in his position and has also been elected as chair. The Panel is asked to consider re-appointing Mr Manning and back dating this appointment.	
	Cranbrook & Paddockwood	Paddock Wood Primary School Mrs Elizabeth Thomas Ms Mary Vacher	Two candidates have applied for this position. The school have made no preference over which candidate should be appointed and request that the panel decide who should take the one LA position available on the body.	(j)
	Gravesham	Ifield School Rev Susan Brewer	Mr Frank Gibson (current LA Governor) has expressed his desire to stand down and has recommended that Rev Brewer take up this position on the body once his term of office ceases. Mr Gibson's term of office is not due to end until 30 May and therefore request that the Panel allow Rev Brewers term of office to start as of the 01 June.	
	Gravesham	Riverview Infant School Mrs Margaret Lane	Mrs Lane's attendance is below the panels requirements. A statement of support has been provided by the Chair of Governors.	(i) (ii)
	Maidstone 1	Boughton Monchelsea Primary School Mr Colin Trefler	Mr Trefler's attendance is below the panels requirements. A statement of support has been provided by the Chair of Governors.	(i) (ii)
	Swale Urban	The Proposed Federation of The Westlands School and Woodgrove Primary School Mrs Claire Tucker	The two schools are in consultation and if agreed they intend to federate on the 1 <sup>st</sup> July 2010. The panel is asked to consider nominations for the three LA Governor positions on the proposed Federated	

			Governing Body.	
	Swanley	Horton Kirby Mrs Helen Reeves	Mrs Reeves has two children currently attending the school.	(h)
	Thanet 1	Northwood Centre PRU Mrs Michelle Clay	Mrs Clay is the Centre Manager for Thanet and Dover Alternative Curriculum PRU. This role does not involve teaching but the Panel may wish to consider whether her application breaches guideline (c) (i)	(c) (i)
	Tunbridge Wells	St Johns Primary School Mr John Bullock	Mr Bullock's attendance is below the panels requirements. A statement of support has been provided by the Chair of Governors.	(i) (ii)
	Additional Governors	Brenchley and Matfield C of E Primary School Mrs Linda Lissimore Mrs Deborah Bruce	The following Members of the Additional Governor pool are to be placed on the Governing Body of Brenchley and Matfield C of E Primary School.	
INFORMAT	TON ONLY - NO	PAPERS		
Urgent Action taken under Delegated Powers in consultation with the Chairman	Dover	Archers Court, Maths & Computing College Mrs R A Law	The school is planning to move to Academy status. Her term of office is due to end on 27th April. The Governing Body has asked to keep her until the school closes in September. A request was made and accepted by the Chair of the Panel for an extension of her current governorship rather than asking Mrs Law to reapply for a full term.	
Urgent Action taken under Delegated Powers in consultation with the Chairman	Maidstone 2	Bell Wood Community Primary School Cllr Gary Cooke	The school has recently been placed in special measures and Cllr Gary Cooke has offered his services to the Governing Body. After consultation with Chris Jones (Area Children's Services Officer) it was felt that the school would benefit from Cllr Cooke's expertise and assistance before the next meeting of the Panel. A request was made and accepted by the Chair to appoint Cllr Cooke as of the 08 March.	
Urgent Action taken under	Shepway Rural	Dymchurch Primary School Mrs Pamela Garrard	The school has recently been placed in special measures. David Adams (Area Children's Services	

Delegated Powers in consultation with the Chairman		Mr Colin Gallagher	Officer) felt that the body would benefit from the support of Mrs Pamela Garrard and Mr Colin Gallagher, who are also to be added to the County Pool of Additional Governors. A request was made and accepted by the Chair to appoint Mrs Garrard and Mr Gallagher as of the 16 March.	
	Late Submissions	St Simons RC Primary School - Mrs Jessica Watts St Nicholas School – Mrs Pat Tree Fiver Acre Wood School – Mr John Baker Claremont Primary School – Mr James Scholes	These candidates have expressed a desire to continue in their post after the close of the previous GAP. They have completed the re-appointment form and have satisfactory attendance records.	